Consumer Technology Association (CTA)®
Legal name: Consumer Technology Association
Overview
Mission
The Consumer Technology Association (CTA)® is the leading membership organization for companies in the technology industry.
What it reported doing in 2024
Ces - expand, strengthen & grow the consumer technology industry by serving as the center stage for the latest technological innovation, and by creating the best annual forum to network, get industry knowledge, and promote companies and products to the media and the international consumer electronics workplace.
Operating model
- Revenue model
- Other-operating. 90% of the money available for current operations came from other operating revenue.
- Distribution model
- Cannot be determined from the filing. The filing does not provide enough consistent spending detail to tell whether the nonprofit works directly or through others.
Nonprofit profile at a glance
- EIN
- 541963355
- IRS 990 coverage
- 2010–2024
- Official website data refreshed
- Sep 2026
- Forms available
- Form 990 2024
- Location
- Arlington, VA, USA
- Phone
- 7039077600
- Rating confidence
- Limited
- Sector
- Chambers of Commerce & Business Leagues
Reported finances
- Revenue
- $153,775,854
- Expenses
- $111,663,759
- Assets
- $433,284,672
- Liabilities
- $139,433,565
Source: IRS Form 990. Selected filing: tax year 2024. Amounts in USD.
The verdict
- This form does not report enough financial and governance detail to rate the organization. That is normal for this form and is not a warning sign.
Rating breakdown
- Financial Efficiency: NotEnoughData
- Transparency & Controls: 80
- Accountability: 95
- Sustainability: 73
- Growth: 60
Detailed rating inputs
Financial Efficiency
- Mission deployment rate: Limited
- Program expense ratio: Limited
- Fundraising efficiency: Limited
Transparency & Controls
- Consistency checks: 92.3%; rating input score 92; 12th percentile among comparable filings
- Pay-setting controls: 6 of 6 controls in place; rating input score 100
- Compensation committee: Pass
- Independent consultant: Pass
- Other Form 990s reviewed: Pass
- Written employment contract: Pass
- Compensation survey or study: Pass
- Board or committee approval: Pass
- Foreign activity oversight: 1 of 8 controls in place; rating input score 12
- Claims monitoring procedures: Pass
- Requires narrative reports: Fail
- Conducts field audits: Fail
- May suspend future funding: Fail
- Requires financial reports: Fail
- Conducts site visits: Fail
- Requires grant agreements: Fail
- May require repayment: Fail
- Grant itemization coverage: 98.4%; rating input score 98; 35th percentile among comparable filings
- Major donor itemization: Limited
- Related-party transparency: Limited
Accountability
- Independent voting board: 100%; rating input score 100; 76th percentile among comparable filings
- Governance controls: 8 of 9 controls in place; rating input score 89
- Conflict-of-interest policy: Pass
- Whistleblower policy: Pass
- Document-retention policy: Pass
- CEO compensation review process: Pass
- Other executive compensation review process: Pass
- Form 990 shared with the board: Fail
- Board meeting minutes documented: Pass
- Audit committee oversight: Pass
- Independent financial-statement audit: Pass
Sustainability
- Operating margin: 27.4%; rating input score 91; 91st percentile among comparable filings
- Total-asset coverage ratio: 3.88; rating input score 80; 80th percentile among comparable filings
- Liabilities to assets ratio: 0.32; rating input score 53; 53rd percentile among comparable filings
- Officer compensation ratio: 9.6%; rating input score 3; 3rd percentile among comparable filings
Growth
- Program expense growth: Limited
- Revenue growth: 4.5% per year; rating input score 100; 38th percentile among comparable filings
- Asset growth: 6.5% per year; rating input score 100; 48th percentile among comparable filings
Details
- What they do: 3 programs and campaigns described on the official site · 1 operating location identified
- Where the money goes: Financial trends and filed revenue, expense, asset, and liability detail
- Governance: 13 of 13 board members independent · 8 of 9 filing controls reported
- Programs: 7 filed program accomplishments
- Leadership: top reported pay $4.4M · 28 people listed · 6 of 6 pay-setting controls reported
- Highest-paid contractors: 5 contractors listed · $24M reported
- Consistency: 16 of 17 current checks pass · 1 finding to review
- Schedules: 8 filed schedules · includes foreign activity, grants, and executive pay
- Filing history: 14 annual filings from 2010 to 2024
- Contacts: How to reach this organization
- Money network: 40 filed money-flow records
- Related organizations: 28 filed related-organization links
- Grant readiness: Federal tax and exclusion status, award history, and grant-maker relationships.
- People: Everyone the filings name, and which of them the filings identify by more than a name.
Key Signals
Signals prioritize questions for review. They are not findings of misconduct.
- High — Transparency & Controls: Foreign activity oversight: 7 of 8 not reported.
- Review — Accountability: Governance controls: Form 990 shared with the board not reported.
- Review — Transparency & Controls: Domestic grant itemization did not reconcile in the filed values.
- High — Sustainability: Officer compensation ratio scored 3/100.
- Review — Sustainability: Liabilities to assets ratio scored 53/100.
Leadership & pay
28 people listed
Highest reported compensation
- Gary Shapiro (CEO): $4,385,753 total reported compensation
- Glenda MacMullin (Treasurer): $1,162,289 total reported compensation
- Michael Petricone (Sr. VP, Government Affairs): $995,829 total reported compensation
Source: IRS Form 990. Selected filing: tax year 2024.